Parents.

I love my parents, they’re amazing. They’ve brought me up for the past seventeen years, and I honestly don’t think they’ve done a bad job. I turned out okay, right?! They’ve loved me, they’ve encouraged me, and they’ve helped me become the person that I am today.

This week has been hard. On Monday, I took my Grade Seven flute exam. Taking it was a massive personal step for me, and I was pretty shaken up after. My flute teacher phoned me on Monday night to tell me I’d got a merit. I was so so proud. I did it. I achieved something that I’ve been desperate to achieve for so long. Such a massive milestone. And my parents response was ‘Oh, great’ in that ‘Can you move on now?’ tone that parents seem to have perfected so well. I was gutted.

Thursday was parents evening. And it’s safe to say that I was dreading it. I work my socks off, I try my best 24.7. I don’t stop. And I’m still underachieving in biology. And I have pushy parents. The kind of parents that when I’m predicted a B will ask ‘Why isn’t it an A?’ – so you can imagine their reaction when I came home in January and told them that I got a C in my biology mock. My mother nearly had a heart attack. Christmas was taken over by a mash of revision and flute practice, and yet I STILL only got a C. I was gutted. Again. And then we had to face the so called ‘five minute appointment’ at parents evening. I was with my biology teachers for half an hour. We still haven’t resolved it. I can’t fail. I’m so scared of failure. I’m scared I won’t get into uni, but more importantly for me, since day one of this issue arising, I’ve been scared of my parents reaction. I’ve never got Cs before. And it’s a shock to pushy parents. I’ll pull through, somehow. But right now, I’m really really worried, and my parents really really aren’t helping.

Living. Laughing. Loving.

alex122rw

One thought on “Parents.

  1. Pingback: Reflecting on 2014 | treasurethememory

Leave a Reply

