It’s better to light a candle than curse the darkness.

‘Mum suggested that we go and light a candle at the church?’
.
.
.
‘What do you think? Do you want to light a candle? I can light one for my grandad too?’
.
.
.
My parents went to spread the ashes of my grandad today. I couldn’t go. I had a guiding training this morning, and I don’t really think my dad thought that me going was a good idea anyway. I knew that today would be hard on my own, and so I arranged to have coffee this afternoon with one of my best friends. And afterwards, just as her mum suggested, we went to the church together. She lit her candle. I lit my candle. The silence was beautiful. The memories, the grief. I broke down. But my friend was there. She held my hand, she wiped away my tears. She told me that it will get easier. I really hope so. And I trust her, because she has helped me thorough so much already the past three years. And for today, I say thank you. RIP Grandad. Forever in our hearts.

Living. Laughing. Loving.

alex122rw

One thought on “It’s better to light a candle than curse the darkness.

  1. Pingback: Contented | treasurethememory

Leave a Reply

