Our Brains Work Better with Oxygen

I’m reaching the point of exhaustion. Any day now, I’m going to crash and burn. I’m showing physical signs of stress and working too hard. My weight is dropping, I’m not sleeping properly, I’m getting neck pain again, and even though I’ve got a migraine I trawled through maths revision and a to do list of ten items before coming to bed. Now I’m here, I’m not tired. I’m panicking because I don’t feel like I’ve worked hard enough today. I want a full nights sleep, but I know I won’t get one. I’m hoping to be asleep by nine.

My friends have started calling me the revision god. I know I have to work, I’m so afraid of failure. But I don’t like the title. Of course, when I’m with them, I’ll laugh along, but if I’m honest, it stresses me out. When I’m tired, I use it as an excuse not to work – perhaps I’ve done enough already. But later, I panic. It’s only seven more weeks.

But seven more weeks is a long time when you feel like you could collapse at any moment. I believe that too much pressure is placed on students today. Teachers, parents, society make students feel like they have the weight of the world on their shoulders. It’s difficult to escape. I know it’s important, and I understand that jobs are going to be hard to come by, but at the same time, you have to think about how this is affecting young people. Of course, there are those who don’t care about their futures, but for us that do, the pressure is often hard to cope and deal with. Everybody has their own ‘way’ to cope, and unfortunately in teenagers, that can sometimes turn out rather badly. I’m aware that it would be very much a sweeping statement to say that the government and the society of today are to blame for mental health problems in teenagers, but when I look at those around me, I can’t help but think it has at least a part to play.

So, to anybody out there taking exams in the next few months, I give to you the best advice I can. I’m not perfect, and I sure am a panicker, but there is one piece of advice that has been given to me numerous times by one person. Usually, she’s trying to make me smile in my moment of panic. It has always worked, even if that smile is internal. She’s someone who I never thought I would trust but in my heart of hearts, I know that I do. And so, I give you her advice: ‘remember to breathe, our brains work better with oxygen’.

Living. Laughing. Loving.

alex122rw

One thought on “Our Brains Work Better with Oxygen

  1. Pingback: Reflecting on 2014 | treasurethememory

Leave a Reply

