I promise that I will do my best.

For the past thirteen years, I have been making a promise. When I was younger, it was a simplified version, and I’ll admit that recently, the wording has changed a little, but it has always meant the same thing. The guiding promise has always had a special place in my heart, and now, I think that place is bigger than ever.

I promise that I will do my best
To be true to myself and develop my beliefs
To serve the queen and my community
To help other people
And to keep the Guide Law

That is a motto that I aim to live by, not only when I’m involved in Guiding events, but also in day to day life. I love the new wording, it just means so much more to me, and I find it so much easier to apply to my life outside Guiding. Being true to myself is especially important. Those words have a lot of meaning for me. It’s about being an individual, not following the crowd, not succumbing to peer pressure. For me, it’s about being there for others, providing a shoulder to cry on, working hard for my exams.

Girlguiding has always provided a stable in my life when things have gone wrong. I’ve had more opportunities than I could ever count, and I’ve grown and developed into a confident and well rounded individual. This week is national volunteers week, and while I’d love to write a long post about my reasons for volunteering, I unfortunately cannot take that much time from my exams. So, ill leave you with the bits that for me, most stand out…

Friendships. I’ve got friends in Guiding from all over the country, and the world. They’re practical advice givers, and they sure know how to have a laugh!

Confidence. I’ve grown so much as a person since becoming a Guiding leader, and my Rainbows are a sure proof way to make me smile!

Memories. I’ve had so many fantastic opportunities that I wouldn’t have been able to have anywhere else. Camping is a favourite past time of mine, and this year, I’m lucky enough to be volunteering at a large camp with 6000 participants. I’ve done this once before, and it’s impossible to explain the feeling of excitement when you step into that campsite. Smiling faces, laughter and fun are ALWAYS order of the day with Guides and Scouts.

If you’re interested in finding out more, please follow this link.

Living. Laughing. Loving. Or, as my five and six year old Rainbows would say, ‘look, learn, laugh, love’.

alex122rw

Leave a Reply

