A letter to… An Alien

To Mr Alien,

I see you’ve come to earth today, but you cannot speak our language. I have however, noticed that you have a machine that allows you to interpret the written word.

Earth however, is a very strange place, and I warn you not to always take things as they may seem. People are not always kind, so don’t trust too easily. There’s a risk that they will break you with their deceitful ways.

Saying that, however, I also ask you to find those humans who you can trust, and they will show you the ways of the world. When you find that one, you may not know. It may be a long time before you come to understand the behaviours of humans. Even after all my years on Earth, I do not understand them all.

Blend in, try not to be different. Unfortunately, on Earth, different often leads to discrimination. This, for many, leads to sorrowful endings.

I hope, Mr Alien, that humans can learn from you, and that you can learn from us. Explore the world, it’s a large and fantastic place, and each area differs so much from the last. You will see war, you will see hurt, you will see disaster, but look closely, and you’ll find love, peace, and friendship. The greatest leaders are those who share these values, and are often go unnoticed, and maybe you aliens can learn from those who choose to make a difference to the world.

Good luck, Mr Alien, you’re going to need it.

From, a human.

*This is part of a personal summer challenge that I have set myself to write ‘a letter’ to a different person or thing every week. I plan for there to be nine letters in total, and if anyone would like to join in this summer, even if just for one letter, or a letter to a person of their own, please link back to my blog, as I’d love to see it!*

Leave a Reply

