A letter to… Myself in Ten Years

Hey Alex,

I hope you’re happy, well, and safe. I hope that you’ve learned to cope with the world, and I hope that you’re not lonely. I hope you’ve developed your ability to integrate, and that you learned to cope with stress. I hope that you graduated from university, and are happy. I hope that you have kept those who mean the most to you close, because you’ll need them, I’m sure. They’ll need you, too, so don’t forget that. I have so many hopes for you, Alex.

I sit here now with dreams and ambitions, and I’m afraid that I may not be able to fulfil them. You will now know the outcome of many of those dreams, and you are probably sitting and laughing at your old self. As I write now, I think I have made progress, but I’m sure that you can see that the progress I have made is small, and that in ten years, I have made much more. Only you can know that.

I told someone today, a teacher of mine, that I’m not sure that I want to grow up. She was telling me that I don’t need to worry about hat my parents say now about my grades, because I’ve worked my socks off, and that I’m not a child anymore. I told her that I wasn’t ready to be an adult, and she told me that at twenty five, she’s still getting used to it. I hope that being a grown up is okay really. I know it’ll be so so much better if you’ve learnt to understand and deal with emotions.

I hope that by now, Alex, you’re curing cancer. I hope that you are working in your dream job, and I hope that you’re still doing amazing things in the world, even if that is just being a leader in Guiding, giving blood, and sticking on the bone marrow register.

Most of all though, I hope you’ve learnt from the mistakes that I have made and will continue to make. Life is going to be fantastic, and you only get one chance, so ensure that you make the most of it.

Much love, keep smiling. Don’t worry, be happy!

Yourself, ten years younger

*This is part of a personal summer challenge that I have set myself to write ‘a letter’ to a different person or thing every week. I plan for there to be nine letters in total, and if anyone would like to join in this summer, even if just for one letter, or a letter to a person of their own, please link back to my blog, as I’d love to see it!*

Leave a Reply

