A letter to… My Favourite Teachers

Sir, Miss, and Miss,

It seems bizarre to write it like that. You’re not that. Teachers with nicknames… I guess it is a little odd. My parents have never understood. They always felt that it was an indication of bad teaching, a lack of control I guess you could say. A few years ago, I would never have dreamed of it. Okay, sir, I would for you, but that’s because it’s simply how you introduced yourself. The others though, no chance. Now though, I like it. And I like it in a way that I shouldn’t like it. It makes you feel more like a friend than a teacher, and I guess that’s exactly why my parents hated it so much. Even now, after everything that’s happened, to an extent, friendship through a teacher-student barrier doesn’t sit with me quite right. Don’t get my wrong, I love it, but it’s a strange and guilty kind of love.

Whilst there are many things that I could say to you individually about the impact that you have had on my life, it would take too long to thank you for all that you have done.

You should know, however, that the three of you have helped me through school. Between you, you’ve helped me to cope with a lot over the past three years, both things that you know about, and actually, some things that I haven’t told you. Knowing that your lessons were coming up allowed me to keep powering on, and desperate to please you, I kept on working. You knew how to subtly suggest how to improve, and whilst at times I have been scared of you, or disliked you, I am now happy to call you my favourites. You didn’t spread on even more pressure, you just wanted me to do well, for me.

When my grandad was ill, it was good to have people around to distract me, and to convince me that it wouldn’t affect my grades. Recently, you have helped me with dealing with emotions and talking about my best friend.

Really though, that’s not what makes you my favourite teachers. Yes, I like the friendly relationship, but you’re also solid, worthwhile teachers. Okay, perhaps one of you wasn’t exactly fantastic, but you still understood ME and how I learn as an individual. You all know me, and you don’t make me feel like ‘just another member of the class’.

You all told me that I worked hard, and so my A Level results would be okay, and while I didn’t believe you, you were right. You believed in me, even when I didn’t believe in myself, and that was what allowed me to do better than I could have ever dreamed. That’s why you’re such awesome teachers.

I’m going to miss you all, even just seeing you smiling in the corridor. I’m going to miss school, because the big wide world is a much scarier place.

Thank you for enabling me to get into university.

Alex

*This is part of a personal summer challenge that I have set myself to write ‘a letter’ to a different person or thing every week. I plan for there to be nine letters in total, and if anyone would like to join in this summer, even if just for one letter, or a letter to a person of their own, please link back to my blog, as I’d love to see it!*

Leave a Reply

