I’m not ready to grow up.

I’ve given up with adults. They’re generally useless, and so I don’t want to be one. I don’t want to be useless. Useless is not for me, because I want to inspire, provide hope, and comfort.

I’m not ready to say goodbye. I’m not ready to be an adult. I’m not ready to take responsibility for myself. I’m not ready to leave school. I’m not ready to do my own washing, my own cleaning, and cooking every single day. Most of all though, I don’t want to be an adult because recently, I’ve decided that you can’t count on adults. And I don’t want to be someone that my friends can’t count on. I don’t want my friends to be adults, because I need to be able to count on them, too.

I’ve decided I won’t be like all the other adults. I’m going to be someone that you can count on, and I’m going to try my best to grab the stick, even if it is the wrong end. I won’t give up, like they all do.

As for school, letting go is hard, but we will have to learn to let go of much much more in our lives.

It doesn’t matter how many birthdays I cried as a kid because I didn’t want to get old, we will grow up. Life goes on, the sun keeps shining, and we’ve just got to make the most of every single second.

Living. Laughing. Loving.

alex122rw

Leave a Reply

