Troubled

It troubles me how easily people give up on those who mean the most to them. Worse still, they give up in their friend’s time of greatest need. The worst is when they tell me that they didn’t say anything, and they don’t talk to that person any more, because they don’t know what to do, or what they should say. So they take the easy option, they give up, and they pretend that the problem isn’t there.

I’ve just spent a good half an hour having a conversation very similar to that with a friend of mine, and it’s left me in tears. If you care, why have you given up? How could you? Please, listen to me, they need you more than ever. You’re not intruding, I promise. You need to help that person that you’re worried about, because otherwise, it looks like nobody else will, and it will be too late.

I just couldn’t do that. I couldn’t give up on my friends. Please know that no matter how bad it gets, I’ll never let you down. I’ll never leave you to suffer, and I’ll never let you go it alone. I’m here, and I’ll be by your side every step of the way, no questions asked.

And I hope that you wouldn’t do that to me, either. I trust you, be here for me. Perhaps I can’t always say it, but I need you just as much as you need me.

All I ask of you today, is that you think about your friends. Is there someone that you’ve forgotten? Did you push them aside because it was easier, because you were struggling, and you just couldn’t cope with anything else? You need to be there for them. You’re their friend, and you could be the only thing keeping them alive. Oh, I know it’s hard, I had the battle every day for months, and I still continue to now, over a year after I recognised the problem. You can’t fix things, but you can try and bring a little light into the lives of your friends.

Don’t let them down. You’re a better person than that. You’re keeping them alive, don’t let them die.

Leave a Reply

